Keisha beat me, I wanted to add my birthday post before anyone wished me happy birthday but she’s just too quick. LOL

So I am officially 24 today! I am not enthused. Today is like any other day. D is taking me to dinner in Little Italy to my favorite restaurant, Amici II. I love it there. So I’ve been on this new “diet” kick but more on the changing my eating habits than just eating weird stuff. I bought healthy stuff at the supermaket on Sunday like whole wheat pita, dannon light n’ fit smoothies, low sugar yogurt etc. Did you know that there’s enough sugar in one 12 ounce can of soda, that if you drink just 1 a day (keep in mind I can drink 1 or 2-20 ounce bottles of ginger ale in a day) for a while year, you’ll gain 15 pounds. *ding, ding, ding* here’s my problem. I’ve been wondering where that 20 extra pounds came from! So that coupled with my old semi-sedentary lifestyle has made me gain weight. So now I am allowing myself only 1 can or half a bottle of ginigerale a week! I love this revelation. I’ve been watching the Diet Doctor on Fit Tv for the past few days and this has really gotten me to see what my problem is.

 

Ok what do I know now that I didn’t a year ago?

-You never really know who your friends are.

A year ago I still had a best friend S, now we don’t speak at all.

-What it’s like to live with a guy!

Living with D is cool most of the time but I am definitely learning about patience through this experience.

-Being engaged for more than a year is very taxing on the mind and body, lol.

I love being engaged but seriously shorter is better if you can afford it.

-Youth really is wasted on the young.

Ok I’m not old, but I do wish that I had enjoyed my life more when I was say 16-21. I wish that I appreciated the ability to wear belly shirts, walk around in 3.5 inch heels like they were flip flops, eating ice cream every day and having to TRY to gain weight. LOL I miss all of those things.

-The re-emergence of baby fever.

I try hard to repress the biological clock for several reasons: D and I are no where near financially stable, we don’t have a house and I don’t want my kids growing up in an apartment (D and I both did and we want better for our kids), we want to send our kids to private school, my fear of fatness, etc. But every so often, I see someone’s cute baby pics and the protective ice around my heart melts. They’re so cute! I know exactly how much work they are though, my sister is turning 8 next month and I helped take care of her. The benefits do outweigh the burdens, when you’re ready though. Don’t get me wrong I’m not going to have kids until what 3 years from now. It’s the earliest possible feasible time. Hopefully we’ll actually have some of the things I think are important on the list (financial stability, house, etc.) Only time will tell.

ETA: I called them today since no word yet on the job, they said they’d TRY to get back to me by the end of the day. 1 person got offered a position that I know of, so what’s up with the other 9 of us? They’ve had 2 weeks to decide. I guess it’s promising that I didn’t just get a ‘no’.

 

